Two Souls One Body

Just another WordPress.com weblog

H1N1 November 5, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — lenore27 @ 1:45 pm

For the past four weeks, Grant has been asking me when I am going to get my swine flu vaccine. He brings home research articles, quotes the CDC website, and gives me all the irrefutable statistical evidence for why every pregnant woman should be first in line. And I get it. I do- I understand all the information.

But I don’t want to get the vaccine. I just don’t feel right about it. I can’t explain it, can’t provide any evidence or rational explanation- I just don’t want to do it. So I start doing research of my own and come up with all the articles about the Swine Flu vaccine/ Guillian-Barre scare in the 70’s, I read about possible thimerosal levels in vaccines, and put my foot down. Absolutely not.

Then I talk with my PCP who is a fabulous doctor, whom I chose because he is cautious when need be and uncompromising with his patients. I promise Grant that if Dr Aboul-Hosn wants me to get the vaccine then I will get it. So I stop him at the hospital and ask him what he thinks. And he looks straight at me and says “Christy, why have you not gotten it already?”.

So I call Employee Health and go down for my vaccine. I sit on the exam table and cry while the nurse holds my hand and assures me that I am doing the best thing for my baby. I get the vaccine, and while the shot is in my arm I start praying that God will protect my baby. I am reminded again that nothing I can do will protect this Little One like remembering that God gave him to us in the first place. So I walk back upstairs and do what I do every time I walk into this hospital- I pray that all the C.Diff and VRE and Shingles and Influenza that can do such horrible things to my unborn baby will stay away and God will protect us.

And when I go home that night and show Grant my band-aid, he hugs me and thanks me for taking care of our Little Nugget. That felt pretty good too.

 

One Response to “H1N1”

  1. Anna Says:

    Good job, girl. I’m glad you did your research. And good job Dr. Aboul-Hosn. Now I don’t have to worry so much when you go into the hospital.


Leave a Reply

